top of page

'The Vow' by Debbie Howells

Two weeks before Amy’s dream wedding, a stranger stops her in the street and warns her that she’s in danger. The next morning, Amy’s fiancé Matt is missing.

Another man is then reported missing by a woman called Fiona – this man matches Matt’s description, and Fiona claims he was about to leave his fiancée for her. But now, he’s gone.

The more the police discovers, the more it becomes clear that Matt was living a double life. As both Amy and Fiona are faced with their new reality, more secrets and lies begin to come to light. Only one woman is telling the truth, but who is it?

I’d seen so much talk about The Vow on Twitter, so I decided I definitely needed to check it out for myself – as soon as I hear that there’s a new thriller, I’m all over it. And this did not disappoint. The novel jumps between different perspectives – Amy, Fiona (who both claim they are in a serious relationship with Matt, who is missing), Jess (Amy’s daughter), and a mystery narration. Each perspective offers a unique insight into the plot. The best way I can describe it is as different puzzle pieces which eventually all slot together.

The most gripping, and at times frustrating, part of the book, is how there are no hints given as to who is innocent and who is guilty. I kept changing my mind, and it wasn’t until the last few chapters that everything is revealed. I really enjoyed that element of being kept in the dark, it made me feel a lot more involved with the story and characters.


Speaking of characters, they were really well presented and described. Especially Matt – he was really easy to hate, especially when we learn more about his gaslighting and almost psychotic tendencies.


At times, the tense used/the flashbacks included in chapters were slightly confusing, so I think my only criticism is that it could have been made a bit clearer as to when characters were reflecting on the past or speaking about the present.


Overall, I think this is a really strong thriller novel and it had me gripped throughout, I think I read it in about 2 days! Although I wouldn’t say that it’s the best advocate for marriage…


Thanks to NetGalley and Avon Books for providing me with an early copy in exchange for a review!

Favourite quotes:

“You can’t interfere with destiny and expect to get away with it.”


“Death changes the lives of those who are left behind.”

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page