top of page

Pursuing Publishing - Production


Welcome back to Pursuing Publishing! If you're stuck indoors or in need of a distraction, then hopefully this post has arrived at the right time. This week I wanted to focus on the world of Production, mainly because it’s a division I personally know less about, and I’m quite keen to learn more. I also think that Production is less known across the industry as a whole, so why not try and shine more light on it!


I’ve asked Robyn Watts, Production Controller at Harper Collins about her experience.


What does an average day in Production look like?

An average day for me involves answering emails, making sure text and cover files are ready to go to press and communicating with different departments such as Editorial, Marketing, Inventory and Design. As a Production Assistant, I looked after backlist titles (books that have already published). Going into my new role as a Production Controller, I am looking forward to overseeing the production of books publishing for the first time!

I also talk to the book printer we work with regularly to check on the progress of titles we have sent out to print.


Can you explain your publishing journey and how you got to where you are now?

Towards the end of my undergraduate degree in English Literature and History, I took part in a week-long course called Get into Book Publishing which offered a comprehensive understanding of the book industry. Speakers from every different area of publishing gave an insight into what they do and for me, Production really stood out. After that, I studied for an MA in Publishing and before I had even finished my dissertation, HarperCollins advertised for a Production Assistant. I was lucky enough to get the job and I have recently been promoted to Production Controller.


When did you first hear/learn about Production, and what stood out about it to you?

During the Get into Book Publishing course, the speaker leading the Production session literally cut a book to pieces before our very eyes… and then had us do it! While all the other bibliophiles were screaming in horror, I was fascinated! It had never occurred to me that it was actually someone’s job to deal with the materials of a book. It was like arts and crafts but for grownups (something I might have said in my interview!)


What is your favourite thing about your role?

I have a real passion for the book as a beautiful, physical object. In my role, I get to produce a lot of really cool books and book proofs and it’s so exciting when you see people posting about something you had a part in creating. Also, as Production work so closely with the printer, there is often the opportunity to help with author signings and to see books (quite literally) hot off the press!


And what’s your least favourite thing?

In Production you are often the first port of call in a crisis. This can make for a busy workload, all whilst trying to meet tight deadlines. But I always try to see these things as challenges to overcome and there are always lessons to take forward onto the next book.


What are the main skills needed in order to work in Production?

You must be organised in Production. Dealing with so many different titles at the same time can be tricky, so it’s important to stay organised. Being a problem solver is also a really great skill to have. Sometimes things don’t always go to plan and you need to have solutions at the ready to support the other teams working on the book. Having a good head for numbers is also useful as we deal with a lot of costings and quotes.


What advice would you give to yourself/to someone looking to start their career in production or publishing?

Be sure to look into all the different jobs there are in publishing outside of Editorial or Marketing. Not only are these roles extremely competitive, but there are so many other interesting jobs in publishing! Doing a taster course like I did could really open your eyes to a role you’ve never thought about before. Also, Twitter is a great place for aspiring publishing professionals. Get involved in conversations and take advantage of all the great bookish accounts and blogs out there.


What would you personally look for in a Production Assistant?

Someone enthusiastic about the book as a physical object and someone who has done a little research into what book production involves. Also, someone who is extremely organised and confident communicating with others. Production are almost always talking to the printer or the teams in-house. My manager and director really encourage the team to get up and talk to people in the office face to face or call the printer directly.


If you had to pitch working in production in a sentence, what would it be?

I’m sticking to the answer I gave in my interview: it’s like arts and crafts, but for grownups!


What makes production different to working in any other publishing division?

For me, working in Production is the bookish equivalent of being a midwife. The editor and author have created this book baby and it is Production’s job to see it safely to its birth at the printer. We even have 3 month and 6 month checks on the progress of the book – just like baby scans!


And now for your bookish question – what is your favourite book front cover of all time?

My favourite book cover design is The Binding by Bridget Collins. Designed by Micaela Alcaino, this cover is everything I want in a book. Vintage, luxurious and foiled!


***


A huge thank you to Robyn for helping with today’s feature and for sharing her invaluable advice! Be sure to check out all her social media:

Twitter: @RobynMWatts

The Prod Squad: Twitter and Instagram


As always, if you have any specific questions, people or divisions you’d like me to ask or focus on, then please do send me a message!

108 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page