top of page

3 Thriller Recommendations

As you are now probably aware, thrillers are one of my go-to genres. I had quite the list of thrillers on my TBR pile, and over the last month or so I managed to read some really good ones. Instead of writing separate reviews for each, I decided to bundle them into one post for anyone in need of a few new book recommendations during lockdown!

The Doll House by Phoebe Morgan

After three failed IVF attempts, Corinne is desperate to start a family. When she finds a piece from what she thinks is her childhood doll house, she believes it’s a sign. As more pieces begin to show up, Corinne realises that this isn’t a coincidence. Even though Corinne’s boyfriend and sister dismiss these signs, she begins to panic. Who else knows about the doll house? And what do they want from her?


The Doll House by Phoebe Morgan is an intense psychological thriller that is told from different perspectives – Corinne, Ashley (Corinne’s sister), Dominic (Corinne’s boyfriend), and another mysterious voice. I thought this was effective, as we get a good insight into the sisters’ lives, and how this unknown voice intertwines with their stories.


I sympathised with Corinne quite a lot – she’s clearly a bundle of nerves, and it felt a bit frustrating when her boyfriend would completely dismiss her worries until it was too late.


The plot was slightly slower in the first part of the novel, but the last half of the book made up for that. The story reaches its climax, and we discover how the unknown narrator slots in with the two sisters. I thought the ending was really interesting and gripping, so the slow start didn’t bother me as much.


I’d say The Doll House is a mix between a thriller and drama, and it reminded me a bit of The Family Upstairs by Lisa Jewell, although this one is more on the intense side. It’s full of secrets, twists and tension, so definitely worth a read if you like a thriller/mystery with a twist!

When You See Me by Lisa Gardner

Flora Dane’s kidnapper, Jacob Ness, is dead. But as bodies begin to be discovered in the hills in the Deep South, the crimes Jacob committed still lingers. As his last victim, Flora is recruited to work on a task force to help slot all the missing pieces together. However, the more that is uncovered, the more dark and twisted secrets begin to be revealed.


When You See Me by Lisa Gardner has got everything I want in a thriller – suspense, twists and a good old serial killer. This is another novel told from multiple perspectives, which is really interesting as we get to see the more legal side of the task force, as well as Flora, Ness’s last victim.


This has one of those plots that keep you guessing throughout. It definitely took me on a journey – I was rooting for some characters and absolutely despised others. It’s a very pacey book, so if you love an action-packed thriller then this one is for you. The plot isn’t particularly realistic, but most of the time thrillers aren’t anyway!


My only slight criticism is that it felt a bit out of place to include a love interest in such an intense book. I did like the two characters it involved, it just felt a little bit strange to me. However, this doesn’t take anything away from the overall plot.


I’d describe When You See Me in these three words: drama, action and intense. If you love a plot-led book, then look no further.

Blood Orange by Harriet Tyce

When Alison is handed her first murder case, she thinks her life couldn’t get any better. She has a loving family and her career is finally on the rise. The only thing standing between her and her dream life is Patrick, the solicitor she’s been having an affair with. Alison is torn between her family and lust, being a mother or a lover. But which will she choose?

I struggled to make my mind up about Blood Orange when I was reading it, and I’m still unsure now, but I thought I’d include it in this list of recommendations because I’ve seen so many mixed responses.


I really love reading about lawyers and legal cases, so this felt right up my street. The book is less about Alison’s career and more about her relationship with her family and Patrick. We still see a lot of the legal stuff, especially as she’s finally been handed her first murder case.


Alison as a character is a bit of a mess, and she’s sometimes frustrating because of the wrong decisions she seems to make, but I also pitied her quite a lot. The men in her life were often nasty, and I wish she stuck up for herself a bit more. Apart from Alison, I didn’t particularly like the other characters (although I’m not too sure you’re meant to…).


It wasn’t until the last chunk of the book when the first twist came in, and it was a good one. Then after that, the book picks up in pace so much that I absolutely flew through the last few chapters. I thought the first half was interesting enough to keep me reading, but nothing prepared me for the end chapters.


If you’re starting out with Blood Orange, I’d say to keep pushing until you get to the few twists – it becomes a really tense and interesting read.

***

I hope you’re tempted by these reads! Despite them all being thrillers, I think they are all quite different and offer a completely unique reading experience. Let me know if you pick any of these up!

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page